Day 11 – H1N1

20130818-190424.jpg

Chili (looks good, but looks are deceiving)

I over slept this morning. Apparently Soldier Ride wore me out more than I knew, so for breakfast we decided to step outside our comfort zone and make 4 ingredient pancakes and compote for breakfast. Wait… that’s what we always have. Sorry, today was a go-with-what-works day as we ate breakfast late and that threw the day off. Today is also is the day I finally got sick. We had heard that most people feel really crappy the first couple of weeks. Well, I crammed the crappy into 2 days. Now I need to clarify – I hardly ever get sick and when I do it is normally the plague or H1N1 or something terrible like that. The Lady adapted and for lunch she made veggie chili, this is a long running dish at our house but it is normally made with salt. It was not the most amazing meal we have had, I ate little to none, and was not that sad. For dinner the Lady made Chana Masala (curried chickpeas), and this may be my new favorite food. I ate only a little, and was sad because of it. However, she did whip me up some chocolate cookies made with beans since I had a bit of a sweet tooth. I might love chocolate beans.

We also knocked out chili for the week.

To get ready for the week, we used this day to prep dressings including more of the rocking caesar salad dressing, cut veggies and catch up on the ever compelling Pretty Little Liars.

Recipes

  • Chana Masala (recipe here – omit salt and oil, so sauté in water; served without grains, but added raisins and red pepper)
  • Chili (just kidding… you don’t want it)
  • Vegan Ceasar Dressing (below)

Continue reading