Day 8 – Soldier Ride

For the next 3 days I (the gentleman) will be attending Soldier Ride Europe, this is an event put on by the Wounded Warrior Project, it “is a unique four-day cycling opportunity for Wounded Warriors to use cycling and the bonds of service to overcome physical, mental, or emotional wounds. The rides are exhilarating and a great way to help warriors gain confidence and realize you can do this!” In Germany soldiers are given the opportunity to participate along side coalition partners. This year we have riders from Lithuania, Norway, Germany, Poland, Spain and Georgia (the country, not the state for my 11&13 Bravos out there). I mention all of this as a lead into the fact that this will be my first big challenge to find food to eat that the lady didn’t make. I have been assured by a good friend, and veteran of this event, that there should be salad at all the meals and fruit for breakfast. Veggies beyond salad may be present but this is Germany so who knows.
Update: there was salad at lunch and dinner, but that was pretty much it. Lettuce, shredded carrots and cold corn with balsamic vinegar tided me over till I could heat up my own jalapeño pinto beans in the hotel room. I would eventually find peas and carrots at this event, they were sadly covered in butter.

Stats 

Gentleman

Breakfast

  • Fruit

Lunch

  • German Salad with Balsamic Vinegar (this is the classic lettuce, shredded carrots and cold corn salad they serve at every restaurant in Germany)

Dinner

  • Repeat of lunch only later I ate a can of jalapeño pinto beans

Snack

  • Roasted chickpeas

Continue reading